



## A.SK Social Science Awards 2025 - Call for Nominations

The WZB Berlin Social Science Center invites nominations for the **A.SK Social Science Award 2025**and for the

# A.SK Social Science Bright Mind Award 2025

### I. A.SK Social Science Award 2025

Founded in 2007 by Shu Kai Chan (1919–2020), the main A.SK award honors research on public policy with a focus on economic and governmental reforms with a prize of 75,000 euros. The research should be in accordance with the spirit of the A.SK mission statement with innovative ideas in a global perspective, such as:

## Ideas on governmental reforms, e.g.

- civil society and the contribution of non-governmental organizations to democratic and effective governance
- the potential of multi-level democracies
- preconditions of good governance in state and society

### Ideas on economic reforms, e.g.

- the role of entrepreneurs and competitive cooperation for economic well-being and development
- the micro- and macroeconomic features of systems which allow employees to participate more in the ownership of their companies through ownership components of salaries
- the allocative and distributive qualities of systems where individual land ownership rights are limited to long-term leases
- the possibilities for the financial sector to have more direct links to the national production of goods and services in order to prevent monetary instabilities and speculative deformations.

### Previous A.SK Social Science Award holders are

- Daron Acemoglu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2023)
- James C. Scott<sup>†</sup>, Yale University (2021)
- Raj Chetty, Harvard University (2019)
- John Ruggie<sup>†</sup>, Harvard University (2017)

- Esther Duflo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2015)
- Paul Collier, University of Oxford (2013)
- Transparency International, Berlin (2011)
- Martha Nussbaum, University of Chicago (2009)
- Sir Antony Atkinson<sup>†</sup>, University of Oxford (2007)

## II. A.SK Social Science Bright Mind Award 2025

An additional award will be presented to a younger social scientist on the Postdoc, Assistant Professor, or Junior Professor level. With a prize sum of 20,000 euros, it honors research on public policy with a focus on economic and governmental reforms which again should be in accordance with the spirit of the of the A.SK <u>mission</u> statement.

#### The members of the award committee are

- Dorothea Kübler, WZB Berlin Social Science Center (Chairwoman)
- Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln, President of WZB Berlin Social Science Center
- Jutta Allmendinger, WZB Berlin Social Science Center
- Sir Richard Blundell, University College London
- Gøsta Esping-Andersen, University Pompeu Fabra Barcelona
- Jennifer Hochschild, Harvard University

#### **Nominations**

Please submit a short letter of nomination by February 28, 2025 to:

Katrin Schwenk A.SK Award Committee WZB Berlin Social Science Center Reichpietschufer 50, 10785 Berlin Tel.: 030-25491-535 a.sk@wzb.eu

Self-nominations will not be accepted. For further information see wzb.eu/ask2025.